The most important feature of the app is that it offers the possibility to download a huge number of maps that you will be able to use completely offline. And if you knew this, then you probably also were aware that there was a Pro version that used to cost $4.99. However, back on November, this year, Maps.me was acquired by Mail.Ru and the app was made free of charge. Even more, it is scheduled to become free and open source software in 2015.  Not many were aware of the price change, and we’ve decided to remind you of such great news. So, with this new big change, Maps.me will be competing directly with Nokia’s newly launched Here app on the Play Store. And if you do choose to keep using your Internet connectivity, the app comes with a data compression technology for using the least amount of data to create a route and navigate it. Maps.me allows to search for POIs and addresses, create routes, and follow them with turn-by-turn directions. The OpenStreetMap project is crowdsourced, which means there’s a big chance to find some roads and routes that aren’t available on other similar tools. You can actually contribute with your own map data, if you’re interested. Another cool feature of the app is that its map downloads take much less space on your device without compromising on the quality. While the app is now free, there’s no sign of any advertising inside, but ot seems that Mail.Ru intends to use the platform to drive further growth of its My.com brand. Not only is Maps.me now totally free, but it is available for Android, iOS and BlackBerry devices.

Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 25Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 12Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 18Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 37Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 47Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 44Maps me Pro Now Lets you Make use of Downloadable Maps Completely for Free - 50